People have goals?

I’ve started working through The Disorganized Mind and, early on, Ratey’s asking me to write down my short and long-term goals.

Perhaps it’s just me, but I find it hard to think of goals beyond surviving another day and ensuring my family doesn’t starve. Is this a general problem for ADDers? Or, is the fact I have 3 young kids mean I’m temporarily incapable of such thoughts?

Perhaps I am overreacting. I can think of some goals (I’d really like to move to a bigger house in the next 5 years, say) but they seem too mundane to “count”. I’ve got to start somewhere, I suppose.

~ by Jay on January 4, 2011.

2 Responses to “People have goals?”

  1. Russell Barkley writes that we ADHDers are ‘time-blind’ and have a hard time envisioning or creating images of ourselves both in the past and in the future. It is somehow related to non-verbal working memory deficits, I believe. This might be why it is hard to picture anything that is enthralling, i.e. that which is not mundane. I share your thoughts on this. I often feel like I am both gifted and condemned to live in the present. Barkley’s book ‘Taking Charge of Adult ADHD’ has given me hope, because he helps identify the difficulties related to working memory deficits and suggests some ‘principles’ or things you can work towards to overcome the deficits.
    Cheers,
    Mungo

  2. Thanks, Mungo. I have that book coming via the library. It sounds great.

    “Gifted and condemned to … the present”. What a great description.

    Occasionally, I have a feeling that I am on the cusp of something great, but it remains a feeling – the vision never resolves. That is one of my biggest frustrations.

Leave a Reply

 
